The Upper Room is here for you in these anxious times. Click Here

Town Hall: Seasoned leaders discuss dismantling racism

August 17, 2020 by The United Methodist Church

Join the conversation on UMC.org or on Facebook

This Wednesday, August 19

1 pm ET | 12 pm CT | 11 am MT | 10 am PT.


The work of dismantling racism is not new; now more than ever we need to be reminded of the work that has moved us to today’s reality—and to name where we still need to go. 

Join us right here on Wednesday, August 19, 2020 at 12:00 p.m. CST/1:00 p.m. EST as we listen to four leaders in the movement discuss their experiences in confronting racism. These leaders will name the parallels and distinctions between their historical work and how today’s anti-racism and anti-oppression movements are different, as well as their insights about the church’s role in this work, where the church must lead the prophetic call to justice and the tension between different approaches to this work. Moderator Erin Hawkins will lead the conversation. 

Learn more about the panelists and submit a question on UMC.org

Don't miss the conversation with a panel of young United Methodist leaders on Wednesday, August 26


Visit UMC.org/EndRacism to find more resources for the work of dismantling racism and promoting collective action for racial justice. 

And for a growing list of resources for the spiritual work of overcoming racism from The Upper Room, click here


1 Comment
Log In to leave a comment

I join many of those who will pray for you as you seek to discern what you are called to be at this moment. May God grant you the courage to fulfill that calling. May we all open our eyes and see the misery, open our ears and hear the cries of God’s people, and, like God through the Lord Jesus Christ, be incarnate amongst them.” 

View a growing list of resources for the spiritual work of overcoming racism.