The Upper Room is here for you in these anxious times. Click Here

Town Hall: Emerging leaders discuss dismantling racism

August 24, 2020 by The United Methodist Church

Worshippers join in a song during an outdoor service entitled "A Call to Prayer for Social Justice, Reconciliation and Healing" at St. John AME Church in Aurora, Ill. File photo by Al Benson.

Join the conversation on UMC.org or on Facebook

Wednesday, August 26

1 pm ET | 12 pm CT | 11 am MT | 10 am PT.


In this current season, rising leaders are studying the leadership of those who came before and adding their energy to the ongoing work of dismantling racism.

As a part of our Town Hall series on anti-racism, we present a panel of younger leaders to discuss their strategies for changing the world and their encouragement for partners in this work. They will respond to your questions about their vision for how to take action with intention and how the Church can draw from the wisdom of the past and hope for the future. Moderator Erin Hawkins will facilitate the conversation.

Our hope is that this Town Hall series will help equip the United Methodist Church as we engage in our anti-racism work across the Connection.

Learn more about the panelists and submit a question on UMC.org.


Visit UMC.org/EndRacism to find more resources for the work of dismantling racism and promoting collective action for racial justice.

And for a growing list of resources for the spiritual work of overcoming racism from The Upper Room, click here.


0 Comments
Log In to leave a comment

I could not have found The Upper Room Moments of Prayer (on Facebook Live) sooner. For it is during these moments of centering spiritual practices, meditating on the words of scripture, praying with and for the world, that I find moments of transcendence, hear whispers of peace and hope, see glimpses of truth and justice, behold visions of love and beauty amid all the stark realities that are around me.”

Join us every Monday and Wednesday at 11:00 a.m. (CST) for prayer and worship on Facebook Live.